What is known today as TripInn Hostel was built as a single storey villa in the 1860’s by people unknown.
In 1877 Thomas Bailie purchased the property and moved his family from Victoria,Australia to Westport after setting up a succesful business trading in general merchandise and wines and spirits. In addition his company was agent for British Insurance and customs collector on behalf of the British Govt. In 11 years Thomas fathered 6 children.
Becoming increasingly wealthy he decided to add another story to the house in 1890. Except for a small strip the property covered a complete town block and had at least 3 houses, stables, tennis court, swimming pool, croquet field and extensive gardens.
The land was progressively sub divided and sold and now contains 7 houses, a small street and 8 empty building sections. The main house remained with the Bailie family for 3 generations and was sold in 1960 to be used in the hospitality industry ever since. Deferred maintainance was taken up by the present owners, is structurally sound again and being progressively restored inside. It has a C classification with the NZ Historic Places Trust.